You Can Still Be a Dancer With Impaired Mobility

This video is from an adapted dance group in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It is now called CRiPSiE. I was a part of this group in its early years, when I was still on my feet using nothing but a cane. I had a wheelchair that didn’t work very well because it was borrowed, but I got a bit of a taste of what was possible with adapted dance.

The next year, as the program enlarged, I brought a young man I was supporting to participate and “sneaked” my place in the gathering. This time the leader knew me and my limitations better and utilized me in ways where I could hold on to a chair or do movements where I could make sure I could maintain my balance. For the first time in my life, I felt GRACEFUL. I loved it so much. I wasn’t ever able to perform for the public, but I never needed to. I never used a wheelchair during that time period, and I still envied the grace and freedom of the dancers who were able-bodied and in wheelchairs.

I’ve moved since then. I have a wheelchair that I’d love to use in an adapted dance program, but I can’t find a group near me. I wish I could, because I loved the feeling of creating movement with my body, when it had always been so uncooperative before.  If you live in a city where you can be part of something like this, I highly recommend it.

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in chronic illness, creativity, disability and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

