The Power of Words

words_of_hope_by_supermeip-d30cjay

I’ve finished two months of blogging, and I don’t want to stop writing. Yay!

I’m sitting at my computer looking for words, and I realize that I haven’t spent enough time in my life doing exactly that. I feel like I’ve missed the boat in so many ways. I kept telling myself that I couldn’t write as well as other people, so I shouldn’t even try. That’s one of the biggest lies I can remember. I kept thinking, “I can’t make a living with an English major or writing or anything to do with words.” That may or may not be a lie–I’ve never actually given that a chance.

I spent a lot of years and a lot of effort trying to succeed as a helper. I still think of myself as a helper and a healer, but maybe I can learn to do that through words. Maybe I can encourage and teach others to heal themselves through words. Maybe there’s more than one way to do what I want to do. I just have to figure out how.

Could this be something I’ve been searching for? Could I find the way to be whole and happy by continuing to write every day? I know I’ve felt much calmer and steadier these past two months than I have in a very long time. I find comfort in words. I find comfort in reading them and writing them. What is the magic that keeps me going even when I don’t realize it’s there?

Words take me places I can’t go to meet people I can’t meet. Words help me learn things. They have power to change my world. I wonder if they have power to change THE world. I think they do. If it’s true, then I hope and pray that they change your world in some small way. I might not ever know what has happened to you, but I send the prayer out every time I post.

God, please help those who might find these words to see Your light in their lives. Show them the lies they’ve believed that have held them back and hurt them. Give them the knowledge that words can hurt, but they can also heal. They can heal their hearts by putting words on paper or on a computer screen. They can heal by creating something that wasn’t there before. It’s the spark that You gave us all. Amen. So be it.

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in barriers, creativity, relationships, story, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

