What Are Your Barriers?

creativity_barriers_10lackofs_6x4

I’ve spent the past two months working on removing my barriers to being creative. My most reliable source of creativity is the words I use to share my heart with others. Some days are harder than others, but I am seeing changes.

The first and most pressing barrier I’ve ever had to expressing myself is the fear that no one would care. No one would want to read anything I’d want to write. Blogging somewhat intensifies this fear because I’m here daily writing with very little feedback. I don’t think I have touched the heart of most of you yet, but I really don’t know. I guess a lot of times what might be interesting to people who are reading. If it’s not interesting to you, you won’t read it. It only takes one like to help me know if I’m going in the right direction.

There’s another barrier. What is interesting to me may not be interesting to you. It’s a pretty challenging thing to read the minds of people who might want to check out a blog. Writing magazine or journal articles is much more difficult than doing it for a blog. The idea of writing a book is the most intimidating thing I can possibly think of. So to start a process that might lead to my writing a book, I had to write small chunks. Maybe I could have written small chunks more than once a day, but telling my story straight through from the very beginning might have insured I’d never be able to rewrite my narrative in ways I’ve needed to.

This is all part of building a “tribe” of readers who are interested in some of the same things I am. It might be a small tribe. That’s okay. I don’t just want people to read because they feel sorry for me. I don’t feel sorry for me. This writing is helping me with that.

Maybe sometime I’ll talk to you about my experiences with other kinds of art. I’ve found a way to make it fun, but being creative with art has been one of the hardest things I’ve found a way to do.

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in barriers, creativity, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

