These Are a Few of My Favorite Things…Books

6159039208_cc52215fda_o6159039208_cc52215fda_o

Since I talked about books and how much I love reading yesterday, I thought I’d tell you tonight about some of my favorite books. This list is in no way inclusive. This will probably be some kind of running discussion, so I won’t feel pressured into covering a certain amount of ground. There is seriously no order at all to the list. I could never rank my favorites, because it might be different on different days.

The first book that caught my eye on my bookshelf just now is The Promise of Stardust by Priscille Sibley. It is the story of a couple who had finally become pregnant after several unsuccessful pregnancies. Elle, however, fell off a ladder during the early weeks of the first trimester–even before her husband Matt knew she was expecting.

Matt, who was a neurosurgeon, knew that the diagnosis of irreversible brain damage was accurate, He began a court battle to keep his wife on life support until the time that the baby could hopefully be delivered safely. I won’t go into the details further, but the plot alternates between present-day and flashbacks that explain the backstory for why everyone was so divided about what Elle would want the doctors to do. I love this book so much I have it on Kindle and in paperback. That’s the best way I can make sure I will always have access to the book, no matter what.

One of my favorite nonfiction writers is Patti Digh. Her blog  37 Days  is a wonderful introduction to her writing. My favorite books of hers are Life Is a Verb, Creative Is a Verb, and The Geography of Loss. I so wish there was some way I could explain her books to you. They are creative and encouraging and deeply touching.  I just say go read her blog. If you like her writing, then search out her books. They will rock your world.

I’m a bit of a nonfiction nerd. I like to read people’s stories, whether they are true to life or fictional. If you are a creative type, and I bet there are some of you out there, you’ve probably either heard of or read Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. Liz Gilbert is also the author of Eat, Pray, Love, which was made into a mainstream movie with Julia Roberts in the lead role. I was fortunate enough to hear her speak when she came to Asheville, NC several weeks ago. Her ideas about creativity and how ideas come and go and how to live a creative life (in the way that works for you) are, in my mind, revolutionary and earth-shattering. I’m still pondering what she said and trying to implement it into my life, but you can see that it has changed my life because writing is now what I look forward to most. Writer’s block doesn’t frighten me so much anymore. This is a book I have in hardback, audiobook, AND Kindle. No chance of losing access to this book!

I’ll still do book reviews for the blog, but I just like sharing the books and authors I love the most.

 

 

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

