Making It All Better

We’re halfway through December, and I’m sitting here looking back at the past 11 1/2 months. Where on earth did it go? I know that people say that time goes faster the older you get, but I never believed it. It’s so easy to put things off when you think you have all the time in the world to finish it. I have done it most of my life with creativity.

I’ve told you all that I’ve loved books and words for longer than I can remember. When it came to my own writing, though, I always said, “I’ll do it when things get better.” Or “I’ll do it when I get better.” But now that I’m writing on a regular basis, I figured something out. Oh, how I wish I had realized this sooner. For me, writing makes things better.

The mighty Seth Godin posted something today that rang true for my state of mind. I always figured I’d get back to writing and creativity one day when I was “centered and complete.” Apparently, I was looking at it wrong, though. He says that creative people want to finish something because they want to “complete something, to heal something, to change something for the better.” I spent all this time putting off the one thing that would “fix” me.

I know I’m not really and truly “fixed.” There’s no such thing, of course. But as Seth says, I’m moving to a “more centered, more complete place.” I may never achieve putting all my pieces back into a place where you can’t see the cracks, but at least I’m finally FINDING all the pieces. For so long, I thought so many of those pieces were lost forever. Thank God they were all still accessible.

“You don’t get creative once everything is okay. In fact, we are creative because everything isn’t okay (yet).” I would add to that, “Being creative will make everything okay one day.” Maybe not today, and maybe not tomorrow. But one day it will.

The quote from Henry Winkler is what I believe living is like. We create a human being by putting all the pieces together, even when “all the pieces are blue.”

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in creativity, story and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

