Living Within Our Limits

The-grace-of-living-within-limits

I came back. I clicked on this page, realized I had nothing to say, then clicked away.

But I knew if I skipped showing you what I do on a night that no words come, I wouldn’t be doing my work for tonight. Yes, I am beginning to see this as my work, even though there’s no payment involved anywhere. So let’s talk about what I do when there are no words. I don’t think it’s technically writers’ block, because I had an idea about what to write. But when I went searching for something interesting to say, I found that today is not the Winter Solstice. Bah! I will talk about Solstice on the appropriate day, but not this day.

I find myself dealing with low energy too many times during the day, so I typically sit to blog late in the evening. There’s usually a window that I can rely on to be alert and creative. If I haven’t seen or thought of anything during the day that I want to write about, I’ll go on Facebook and see if anyone’s posts inspire me. Sometimes I read blogs. If this fails, I try looking for images on Google Images or Flickr that inspire some kind of direction, usually by looking for those images that fit a certain word. Usually that works. I can go from there. But I saw a suggestion that I’m going to try. I suggest you might try it too.

Michael Nobbs suggests an exercise that he adapted from Julia Cameron. I’ll adapt it a little bit more. He suggests answering this prompt 10 times: “If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or time, I’d try…” For my purposes, I’m going to change it from “time” to “money.”

If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or money, I’d try setting up a real website with a blog attached where I can sell things.

If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or money, I’d arrange to go to retreats and classes where I can be around  others more often.

If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or money, I’d set up online encouragement circles where creative people who live with disability or chronic illness can come together with others who share their issues and talk about ways they can enhance their creativity.

If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or money, I’d try to figure out how to start speaking to groups about chronic illness/disability and creativity. I’d like to start workshops where we could all work together.

If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or money, I’d want to get a certification in creativity coaching. I am certified as a life coach already and haven’t figured out how to do anything with that. Creativity seems to be something that a lot of people in our world are interested in. There’s not many people just working with us.

OK, I know that was only 5. But I got started, and maybe I will find more. I’d love to hear how you did with this exercise. It made me think.

One more–If I didn’t have to worry about limited energy or money, I would write a book that I could make into a e-book and a regular book. Maybe it could go in bookstores then.

 

 

 

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in barriers, chronic illness, community, creativity, disability, story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

