Looking Out the Window For My Life

First a quick apology–I accidentally trashed last night’s post instead of posting it. I’m not sure if it was brain fog or the fact that I’m not as comfortable yet blogging on my iPad. I’ll try to double check from now on.

I had one more thought about the book Just Like Other Daughters. I thought it was funny how Ally, the mom, compared her daughter Chloe and Chloe’s boyfriend Thomas on the way they presented themselves. She determined that Chloe was in some intangible way almost “better” than he was. I don’t ever remember Ally using the word “retard” in relation to Chloe, but she did several times about Thomas. I thought that was hypocritical on her part. It didn’t really take away from her character, but I trusted her approach to the situation less than I would have if she had expressed herself differently.

I’m feeling like joining one of those #365days projects. I want to do some short creative writing. I’ve dabbled in poetry off and on for a while, but I want to learn how to do it “right.” I’ll write one poem a day for each day this year. Sometimes it might only be a haiku, but I am going to do my very best to follow through with this and see what I can learn.

Do you have a project you’d like to do for #365days? If you do, why don’t you come along on the ride. Let me know what you’re doing so I can keep up with you too!

cat-877120_640

Looking out my window

Seeing life passing by

I want to grab the leg of someone passing

And make them take me along.

No one turns my way

It’s as if I’m invisible.

See me

See me

I need community

I need a life.

Guess it’s up to me to find it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in book reviews, creativity, poetry, story, Uncategorized, voice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

