The Soundtrack of My Life

Love Is Blue

I hear the song Love is Blue and the tears begin to start
I remember riding in the back seat of our car
Begging to stop and go to the bathroom when I couldn’t hold it in
Crying “Slow down, Daddy, don’t you walk so fast”
when I was walking as fast as I could
Seeing my parents walk together, but never being able to catch up
Feeling alone and a little bit lonely
“Seasons in the Sun” “Billy, Don’t Be a Hero”
The soundtrack of my life
Yes, love is blue. Not the blue of peace and happiness.
But the blue of loneliness.

Even cheesy 1970’s music can prompt creativity. Since I wasn’t sure people who read this post would know the music, I decided to post YouTube videos of each song. The memories from the poem and this music are in the deepest part of me. I feel vulnerable, but safe, because I believe that creators understand that inspirations come from everywhere.

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #365poems, #whyiwrite, depression, poetry, story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Soundtrack of My Life

Leave a Reply

