Here We Go Again….

haveyoujhuggedsomeonewithashunttoday

I found out this morning that I have to have shunt surgery. For those of you who have no idea what that is, shunts are used to reduce pressure on the brain when cerebrospinal fluid is causing too much pressure. My first shunt was implanted when I was nine months old. I never had another one, and it was only revised occasionally as I grew taller (luckily, I’m only five feet). I didn’t have health insurance most of my adult years, and even when I did, there was no real reason to be concerned about the shunt, as far as I knew.

As the old saying goes, “When it rains, it pours.” Last year when I started having symptoms of several different conditions, my doctor picked the most likely problem which is why I had the laminectomy. My spinal cord was being compressed, so that surgery came first. I didn’t quite make it to my 6 month check up for that surgery before the new one needed to be done.

January 20th is the day for surgery. I may get out after one day, but probably two days .

But for now, let’s see what #365poems has for us today.

Chocolate with No Calories

Asheville’s breweries are closing.
Actually, they are transitioning into places
Where the most amazing chocolate is produced and sold.

Chocolate with no calories
Chocolate has taken the place of beer in Beer City USA.

No one can buy beer anywhere in the city,
But they can gorge themselves on chocolate.
They don’t miss the beer.

Chocolate rules…Chocolate City USA!

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #365poems, chronic illness, disability, language, poetry, story, voice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

