Respect for People Who Do It Differently

I know that David Bowie wasn’t disabled, except by his 18-month long battle with cancer that just ended. But I’ve read so much these past few days about what he did for music, what he did for those who were questioning who they are, and how he released his last music just a very few days before he died.

I never liked him much. I didn’t understand his art. The things I’ve read about him since he died, though, make me think perhaps I missed someone very special.

He was not afraid to be whoever he was, no matter how often that changed. He inspired so many others to step out and “fly their freak flag”, and that can’t be a bad thing.

I wish for all of us that we might be able to offer our art to the world until the very last breath of our lives. I’m learning about creativity from David Bowie. Even though we are very different artists, I have learned to be who I am. No excuses, no apologies.I wish this for all of you too.

Here’s today’s poem. It’s to an artist, living or dead.

To David Bowie

I never knew you.

I judged you by the way you looked,
and never looked below the surface.

You were an artist who changed the world
in so many ways.

You reinvented the person you were
And gave people hope who weren’t happy
With who and what they were.

You couldn’t leave the world
Without saying goodbye in your own brilliant way.
A true artist.
The world is poorer without a man like you.

Your death was no different from your life —
A work of Art.

May we all pursue our own forms of art until the very end of our lives.
Even death can be an inspiration.

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #365poems, art, creativity, poetry, story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

