Let Your Creativity Be Free

grumpycatbigmagicIf you are a person with a disability who loves creativity, it’s probably crossed your mind a time or two to try making money with it in some way. Writing books or articles for money is my big dream. Selling art in an art gallery or performing in front of an audience might be your big dream.

There’s a lot of debate about providing your creativity for others to enjoy. Many people are against working for free. Some do it for the exposure. Some do it for practice. Some do it as a charitable act intended to help a publication or to speak out for a cause. Some do it just because they love what they are doing, and don’t need anything but that satisfaction.

When I ran across Elizabeth Gilbert’s statement in Big Magic that’s so beautifully expressed in the above graphic that I found on Kathryn Magendie’s blog, I was kind of blown away. I had never thought that trying to make a living from my writing would be a bad thing. I’m learning , though, that the work and the creativity are enough. If anything else happens, it’s gravy (I’m Southern, so gravy is a very good thing).

Let’s do creative things for their own sake, not asking or expecting anything from them other than the pleasure of doing them. If nobody else ever sees them, you do. I just want to wish you joy in what you create for its own sake. Blessings on you.

“Create whatever causes a revolution in your heart.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear

I’m a social worker by heart, so I will do exactly that. That’s what art is for.

 

I’m sorry, y’all. Apparently I didn’t click post on last night’s post. My brain is a little foggy. Have a fantabulous evening!

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #whyiwrite, art, creativity, language, poetry, story, transportation, voice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let Your Creativity Be Free

  1. songsbybriar says:

    Inspiring stuff Lana!

    Like

Leave a Reply

