Just Another Day

I’m so excited! I finished a book today! It’s been a while since I’ve been able to read print books much due to my vision issues and other things, so when I finished, it felt as if things are slowly but surely going to return to normal. Or do I mean “normal”? Reading is such a big part of my life. I worried for a while that I’d never be able to read anything but my Kindle and iPad again.

My vision still isn’t normal. I can’t wear the glasses that I had before the operations. I know that my optic nerves were swollen, and I don’t know whether the damage is permanent or not. I’m wearing dollar-store reading glasses for now until I find out what’s going on and get new glasses.

For now, I’m still plugging along.

typewriterHunt and peck
Hunt and peck
Carriage return
New line
How did I get anything done on a typewriter?
Strangely set up keyboards whose keys I couldn’t push hard enough
Trying to hold down the shift key hard enough to strike capital letters
And oh, when I made mistakes!
I love typewriters, but I can’t type on them….
Thank heaven for computers!

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #365poems, #whyiwrite, barriers, creativity, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

