Letting Go of The Outcome

It’s hard to write sometimes (or do anything creative) if you’re a control freak. And when it comes to my work, procrastination is usually the way my “inner control freak” comes out to play.

In the counseling/social work fields, which is where I started out working, there was no room for an “inner control freak.” You can’t control other people’s actions and needs. But procrastination often wasn’t acceptable either. The people I would be supporting usually had emergent or at least urgent needs–they didn’t have time to wait around while I debated and created a plan of action that would set them on the right track. I had to assess what was needed and figure out to get those needs met.

Creativity is not like that at all. I want my creative actions to be perfect, which is why  I procrastinate writing these blog posts every once in a while.  Oddly enough, procrastination is sometimes part of the creative process. Ideas have a chance to roll around and percolate in my brain. They become more developed and fleshed out.

This is still a learning process for me. Do you have rituals as part of whatever your creative process is? I’d love it if you’d comment and share with me.

05-04-16-wide

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #whyiwrite, barriers, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

