Lessons From Tearjerker Movies

“Without suffering, there’d be no compassion.”–Nicholas Sparks, A Walk to Remember

One of my favorite books and movies is A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks. I know that it’s not one of the most realistic depictions of living with leukemia that I could pick. Maybe I’m just a big old sap, but for some reason, I’ve always loved it.

Usually the question of “Book vs. Movie?” is a no-brainer. The book is almost always better than the movie. I’ve always thought that the movie couldn’t hold a candle to the book. Until tonight.

I was multi-tasking with the TV on. I was reading and surfing the net and not really paying attention to any one thing. All of a sudden I caught the quote above. I don’t remember ever noticing it in the movie before in all the times I had seen it. I don’t remember it in the book. Suddenly I was caught up in the story all over again.

awalktoremember

Sometimes I feel like saying what Shane West says in the GIF above–OVER AND OVER AGAIN. Because there is. If you’re living with a chronic illness or disability that limits you, you might have days where you feel exactly the same way.

Mandy Moore as Jamie, the character with leukemia, says, “Without suffering, there’d be no compassion.” That’s such a sweet and loving response. But sometimes I’d smack somebody for saying that.

This is Shane’s (as Landon) answer. “Yeah, well, tell that to those who suffer.” I thought that was such a fitting response. It might be true, but it’s hard to see it that way when you’re the one in pain.

I understand Landon’s response, but I hope I can remember that without suffering, there really wouldn’t be any compassion. I believe it’s true, but it sure is hard to live out that belief.

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in books, cancer, movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

