One of My Favorite Places on Earth

It’s time for another visit to Camp Bluebird at Bonclarken in Flat Rock, NC. This is also the place of some of my fondest memories from college retreats. It’s so much like going home that I can’t even explain.

In case you don’t know about Camp Bluebird, it’s a 3-day retreat for adult cancer survivors and patients. I try to come in the fall, because it’s so gorgeous here.

And I’d bet money you don’t know about Bonclarken. It’s the conference center of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian church denomination. It’s a tiny little denomination that not many have ever heard about.

I’m actually hopeful this year that I’ll make it to the bonfire at the lake tomorrow. It’s usually so chilly by this time of year that I would freeze if I went, but it’s warmer than usual. I checked the temperature earlier today, and it was 77 degrees!

The name Bonclarken means “good clear vision.” That’s a brilliant way to describe how I feel when I’m here. It’s as if I got a new pair of glasses. The world was blurry outside this center. Now it’s as if I have almost 20/20 vision.

I could tell you about the pain I’m in from walking these pathways with AFO’s, but I won’t. I can deal. It’s been a long time since I’ve done it. I just have to remember to pace myself. 

I love it here. 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #continuouspractice, cancer, inspiration, spirituality, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

