What If Things Were Different?

whatif

I’m reading The Able Life of Cody Jane by Marly Cornell, and I was hoping to finish it in time to tell you all about it tonight, but I don’t think I will. Reading the stories of other people, especially of those with spina bifida who were born around the same time as I was, shows me how far things have come since the late 1960’s/early 1970’s in the kind of medical treatments that were available and the accessibility of education at even the kindergarten/first grade level.

I wonder how I would have grown and developed had I had access to the opportunities there are now. I wonder how my life would have turned out if I had tried using hand controls to learn to drive when I was 16 years old. But then I wonder how my life would have turned out if I hadn’t been able to walk without crutches or braces or even needed a wheelchair in my younger years. I might not have been able to go to the college of my choice. I might not have been able to do the things at college that interested me.

I would have missed my time in Savannah with the Baptist Center. I wouldn’t have have been able to do the walking and climbing stairs that allowed me to function in their older buildings and minister to the people of that community.

I wouldn’t have been able to move to Kentucky for seminary. Nor would living in Canada have been much of an option.

Am I glad things went the way they did for me? This might be something to think about more deeply. I know some of these experiences made me who I am, but would I change them if I could? I just don’t know.

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #continuouspractice, disability, introversion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

