Anyone Else Doing NaNoWriMo?

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_participant-200

I had told myself I wasn’t going to mess with that this year. I don’t write much fiction, but I kind of want to anyway. Of course, there’s the option to be a NaNo Rebel. I have to do some more reading because I can’t really figure out how you do word counts if you’re doing a blog post a day, which is when this blog actually was birthed. Some people are suggesting using the NaNoWriMo Young Writers’ Program, where you can fudge your birthday to set your word count; and I’m looking at that now.

I can’t believe it’s two days until it starts, and I still can’t decide what to do. I just want to plunge into a project for a few weeks and have some feeling of completion or accomplishment at the end. I need closure at the end. I know it’s a psychological thing because I am working through some endings, and I guess I want to hide in my words for a while.

The idea of this is always so overwhelming I can’t figure out how to bite off the chunks I know I can handle and process while I’m working on this. The daily practice is still so new and fragile, and I don’t want to break that and not be able to put it back together.

I’d like to hear from some of you about the projects you’re working on. Maybe we can spark something in each other that will lead to somewhere creative.

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in #continuouspractice, story, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

