Making a Living or Making a Life?

I have always had problems finding a job that works out with all my limitations. I never worked during high school or college because I didn’t drive and lived in small towns. Finally I found internships/summer missions where lodging/transportation/food were provided and learned something about the work world.

In seminary, I worked two or three jobs at a time most of the time. They generally didn’t last very long, and I don’t even remember many of them.I even rang bells for the Salvation Army one Christmas season. (They were hiring, and I needed a job. I went with it.)

I do remember every miserable moment of the job I hated most–cashier in the campus cafeteria during lunch. I could never get through a shift without screwing up the cash register, and the numbers hardly ever added up the way they were supposed to.  Finally the supervisor decided to put me out of our misery  and tell me it was time to find a new job. I’ve never been so thrilled in my life!

When I finally graduated with my master’s degree in counseling I psychology in December of 1997, I didn’t think I would have any trouble finding a job. For the first time, I was excited about the possibilities. I was looking forward to being out of school and making a life for myself. I had just come out of a low period, so the hope itself was precious. I had no idea how wrong I would be.

More tomorrow, as my eyes are telling me it’s time to go to bed. I can’t tell the rest of this when I’m this sleepy. Let’s just say that this dog’s face is foreshadowing of the things to come. Blessings to all y’all.chasing_rabbits_is_hard_work____by_dancingwaters97-d4tmaah

 

 

About lana1967

I'm a Southern girl at heart who wants to build a community of people who believe they can change the world with words like "love" and "freedom" when they become more than words, but actions in our work and our daily lives.
This entry was posted in barriers, story, work/employment, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

